Calling DOM methods from ReasonReact reducer

reasonreact
interop

Hi, I’m new to Reason and React.
I’m trying to write a component that needs to play an audio sound on ReasonReact action.
I have an <audio id="beep"> tag with autoPlay set to false in component render and I don’t know how to invoke its play method.
I did it before in JS:

var beep = document.getElementById("beep");
beep.play()

Is there a standard and safe way of calling DOM methods from reducer?

Normally you’d use a React ref for this: https://reasonml.github.io/reason-react/docs/en/react-ref.html

The basic idea is that you store a reference to the DOM element inside some component state. Then when you want to play the audio you can access it from your internal state and call the play method on it.

I was looking for something pure, without directly mutating state. The example with ref and := looks suspicious when you come from Elm :wink:

I tried that, but don’t know how to cast given ref to audio.

switch (beepRef^) {
| Some(beep) => beep#play()                                                    
| None => Js.log("No beep sound to play")
};

results in error:

This expression has type Dom.element
It has no method play

It’s actually quite safe provided you follow the documentation and model the mutation in a type-safe way:

• The (Reason built-in) ref(something) type tells you that there is mutation going on
  • The option(something) type tells you that something may or may not be there, so you need to check for both cases

The safety comes from modelling even side-effectful code using the correct types, and restricting mutation to as small a scope as possible. These are fundamental techniques in FP. Admittedly, Elm promises a bit more safety by restricting what you can do, but there’s always a tradeoff.