Dealing with lots of js objects

Hello,

I’m a JS developer convinced about the benefits of FP, and I use it on my daily job. Now I’m trying reason to see if I can go one step further and I’m liking it a lot. My way of learning consist of writing bindings to JS libraries and writing small and self contained programs. Currently I’m working on a CLI utility that uses a remote API.
For making the http calls I’m using bs-axios, which wraps axios js library. The bindings of this library make a heavy usage of javascript objects, and almost everything it returns or accepts is a javascript object.

This leads me to a very unwanted situation where I have to access direct properties of JS objects on an untyped and unsafe way. Here is just a small extract of what I mean:

let findByName = (~name) =>
  Js.Array.find(s => Js.String.(toLowerCase(s##name) == toLowerCase(name)));

let usesImage = (~image) =>
  Js.Array.filter(
    Js.String.(
      x => x##launchConfig##imageUuid |> toLowerCase |> endsWith(image)
    ),
  );

let getStacks = client =>
  Js.Promise.(
    Instance.get(client.axios, "v2-beta/projects?name=" ++ client.env)
    |> then_(x =>
         x##data##data[0]##links##stacks |> Instance.get(client.axios)
       )
    |> then_(x => x##data)
  );

let findStack = (~client, stackName) => {
  open Js.Promise;
  getStacks(client)
  |> then_(x =>
       x##data
       |> findByName(~name=stackName)
       |> Belt.Option.getExn
       |> (st => st##links##services |> Instance.get(client.axios))
  )
};

let upgrade = (~stack, ~image, client) => {
  open Js.Promise;
  Js.log("Upgrading " ++ stack ++ " using " ++ image ++ " image");
  findStack(~client, stack)
  |> then_(x =>
       x##data##data
       |> usesImage(~image)
       |> (x => Belt.Result.Ok(x) |> resolve)
     )
  |> catch(_err =>
       Belt.Result.Error(
         "Can not find stack -" ++ stack ++ "- containing service with " ++ image,
       )
       |> resolve
     );
};