GraphQL in Reason

Hi :wave:

First of all: I am really new to Reason and its ecosystem but I already really like its philosophy and efforts. Thank you all for that!

I currently am debating, if I should use Reason for one of my projects. I already made my first steps in integrating it into my existing codebase and as I said, I really like it.

What is holding me back from fully committing to it right now is the integration with GraphQL.
I looked into https://github.com/baransu/graphql_ppx_re and https://github.com/apollographql/reason-apollo but with the current support of fragments it kind of feels unfinished. (I don’t know how to describe it in a better way).

So my question is, how are you currently handling the integration with GraphQL in a Reason-React app?

Thank you,
Torben :slight_smile:

I think a lot of people are using graphql_ppx[_re]. Because of its design, it can’t handle fragments. If you really need fragments, there’s an alternative: https://github.com/sainthkh/reasonql

Shameless self plug, but if you’re ok with using experimental stuff (the new React concurrent mode) and have a schema that supports it, there’s bindings for using Relay with ReasonML: https://reason-relay-documentation.zth.now.sh/docs/start-here

graphql_ppx_re really works great for us. Due to the type system you don’t really need fragments to prevent under fetching. It’s still easier overfetch, and fragments make for a nicer DX. I’m actually interested to improve fragment support in graphql_ppx_re, and have some implementation ideas.

So you are only using query and pass the data into into the children as props?
I thought about that approach too, but that would remove the colocation of data and implementation, which i would really miss.

Do you need any help with improving fragment support? I would be interested to help out (if i can).