Question on why type inference isn't working

I’m new to ReasonML and also new to typed languages (just a little Flow). I’m creating a library to learn the language and I ran into a situation where the type inference works in the “Try Now” with the types all in one file. However, in my React render function, it doesn’t work, saying ..

I would assume that if I manually type the param (completely reasonable… no pun intended), then the List.find function should infer the list elements. Am I doing something wrong or is this standard?

Example on Try Reason:

type schemaItem = { name: string, label: string };
type schemas = list(schemaItem);
let formSchema: schemas = [
  {name: "name", label: "Name"},
  {name: "age", label: "Age"},
];

Js.log(
  List.find(x => x.name == "age", formSchema)
);

Example in my code, working with type on X (simplified)

type scItem = SF_Form.schemaItem;
type schemaList = list(SF_Form.schemaItem);

let make = (~formSchema: schemaList, _children) => {
  ...component,
  render: _self => {
    let schema =
      formSchema |> List.find((x: scItem) => x.name == "firstName");
    <div>(text(schema.label))</div>
  },
};

Can not infer type scItem of x “The record field name can’t be found.”

type scItem = SF_Form.schemaItem;
type schemaList = list(SF_Form.schemaItem);

let make = (~formSchema: schemaList, _children) => {
  ...component,
  render: _self => {
    let schema =
      formSchema |> List.find(x => x.name == "firstName");
    <div>(text(schema.label))</div>
  },
};

To recap, why is the type scItem needed? couldn’t Reason infer that the type schemaList is a list of schema items and then use that information for x?

Hi!

I’m not an expert either but records and fields are quite different from what you would expect in ocaml/reason. The docs don’t have much information but you may find this post (and the whole series) useful: