Why would someone use Reason?

reasonreact

Hi

I heard about Reason today in React Fest yesterday. It may be future.
I have gone through Why to use React but i have a question that why would someone learn new syntax / language?
Is it faster than others?

I’m very new to Reason as well, and here is what attracts me in order of importance.

1. By far most important to me is a smart leadership making sensible and practical choices and tradeoffs, and involved with the community. Some other languages I’ve worked with seem to be very much closed to outsiders and Reason is a breath of fresh air. It’s not just Reason as it is today, it’s where Reason is heading and what it will become in the future that are shaped by their thinking.

2. A strong focus on great error messages and overall developer experience.

3. A VS code extension is the primary tool used by core team meaning it works perfectly.

4. A MUCH better language than JS, primarily function and immutable.

5. Long term viability because large companies depend on it(Facebook/Bloomberg)

6. Ability to compile reason to native & uni-kernels is interesting for the future.

I’ve heard the saying that Reason is the “Goldilocks of languages”, and I really think that’s true in that it strikes a very nice balance. It has a bright future.

Never heard this term before but quite like it.

I heard that in this talk, which is great. https://youtu.be/tB705w4w6H0?t=1m50s

I would suggest you read

It covers the rationale behind ReasonML.

Also @chenglou ‘s talk at React Conf 207

I personally like Reason for following features:

• It’s based on OCaml, which is a more practical functional language, which allows side-effects and imperative coding… there is no religion on “pure functions” like in Haskell and OCaml’s language features & paradigms map nicely to JavaScript